Dutch Puff-ish Thingie

23 Nov

Okay, I dropped the ball on the whole food blog portion of my life, but hopefully I’m back now.  The fourth Bottomless Tummy has just turned three and I was a little disorganised preparing his party food, which left me doing a mad dash at the end.  Hopefully one of the near future posts will cover how we host (nearly) packaged food free parties.  But for now we’re back to my ‘Too Many Eggs!’ theme.

I’ve been slowly getting this just how I like it, while converting it to gluten and dairy free..  Slowly, because I’ve been trying not to feed it to the kids so often that they start refusing to ever eat it again.  EVER!

So far so good with that.

We’ve been eating this for lunch, but I would happily eat it for breakfast or dessert too.

First turn your oven on to 200c/400f.

Next measure 1 cup rice flour (I used white, but I’m sure either would be fine) and 1 cup tapioca starch in to a mixing bowl.  As an aside, I can’t stand when rice flour makes stuff gritty, I don’t even like it when the food is fine but there is a grittiness afterwards.  If you share my rice grit loathing you are safe with recipe.

Break in 8 eggs and whisk until smooth.

Somewhere in there your oven will get hot.  Chuck 75g fat (shortening, or butter if dairy is okay, bacon drippings would be yummy if you can eat pork products) in your oven dish and pop it in the oven.  Pull it out again when it’s melted.

If I want apples in the puff I add them with the butter.  If I’m putting something softer in (eg, banana or mushrooms) I add them after the butter has melted.  I just use enough to make a single layer on the bottom of the dish.  For a sweet dish I stir a heaped Tbs honey in to the butter.

Put the oven dish back in to make sure everything is hot when your egg mix is ready.

Whisk 2 cups coconut milk (or whatever milk you use, I’m sure they’re all fairly equal for this) in to the egg mix.

When everything in the oven is hot, pull the dish out, pour the egg in, and return to the oven.  Bake 15-20 minutes, until puffy.

Fresh out of the oven it's all puffy.

The puffiness will collapse fairly quickly, and it ends up with a baked custard kind of a texture.

Editing to add this to Tasty Tuesday.  Go see lots more great recipes!

One Response to “Dutch Puff-ish Thingie”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Weekly Wrap Up « Chaotic Cuisine - December 20, 2010

    […] I made Dutch Puff for lunch I just cooked it plain, then let the kids choose which jam they wanted with it.  I had […]

Leave a Reply

