Miracle Cake

8 Dec

In real life the cake is a bit darker than that, it wasn't photographed under the greatest conditions!

 

A.k.a. Dana’s Chocolate Cake from Destitute Gourmet.

As I said in the last post, this cake turns out EVERY time, no matter WHAT I do to it (and trust me, I’ve done a lot to it!)  This is the basic ingredient list, and I will add the allergen notes at the bottom.

  • 1 2/3 cup flour
  • 1 1/2 tsp baking soda (yes, soda not powder)
  • 1 1/2 cups sugar
  • 2/3 cup cocoa
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1 1/2 cup milk
  • 100g butter, melted
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract

Preheat oven to 180c.  Line your cake tin with baking paper.

Method: Dump it all in a bowl, mix it, chuck it in a cake tin and bake it.  Yes, really.  It turns out best with a cake mixer, but using a good ol’ wooden spoon work too.  The baking time varies a lot depending what size tin I use… anywhere from 30 minutes to an hour, take it out when a skewer comes out clean.

Gluten Free:

I just switch the flour for an all purpose gluten free mix.  Leave out the vanilla if it’s a problem, but my gluten free-ers are not that sensitive so I still use it.

Dairy Free:

Switch the milk to whichever substitute milk you use (I use coconut).  Replace butter with dairy free margarine or coconut oil.  If the additives don’t matter I use marg, if they do I use coconut.

Gluten and Dairy Free:

Do both of the above, obviously.  I do this for Bottomless Tummy 2, it turns out fine.

Egg Free:

I can’t remember if I have ever used an egg replacement in it, but I bet it would work.  Let me know the result if you try it.

 

Hopefully I’ll get a recipe up for the icing soon.

2 Responses to “Miracle Cake”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Brushing off the Spiderwebs… « Chaotic Cuisine - February 11, 2011

    […] to work around.  I’ve decided to try it with this batter to make white hearts, then my fail proof cake to make chocolate muffins. (Yes, it works for muffins too.  I did tell you it was fail […]

  2. They worked! « Chaotic Cuisine - February 16, 2011

    […] the cake had reached room temperature I mixed this up (using gluten free flour, coconut milk, and just skipping the butter to meet everyone’s […]

Leave a Reply

