KFC Flavour Seasoning, and it’s gluten free!

21 Dec

It's yummy on wedges too!

  • 2 Tb salt
  • 1 cup rice flour
  • 2 Tb pepper
  • 4 Tb paprika
  • 1 tsp garlic salt
  • 1 Tb mustard
  • 1 Tb thyme
  • 1 Tb basil
  • 1 tsp oregano
  • 1 Tb powdered ginger

Mix together.  TaDa!!

Okay, a few more details. 😉  For the ingredients that are not already powder I throw them all in the coffee/spice grinder and give them a quick whizz.  This makes lots, which suits me fine because that way I have it ready in the pantry.  For wedges I just shake it on the spuds before cooking.

For chicken….. it can just be sprinkled on, but for a more authentic KFC style…. where I got this recipe from originally it was for little cubes of chicken, I cut the chicken in to strips instead if I’m doing it this way.  Coat your chicken in flour (to make your egg stick), then coat it in a little whisked egg (to make the seasoning stick), then coat it in the seasoning.  Shallow fry the chicken in oil to set the seasoning a little, then pop the chicken in a moderate oven (on foil) until it’s cooked through.

Whenever I’ve used this on pieces such as drumsticks I have just shaken it on rather than doing the whole sticky egg routine, it gives it a nice flavour, but it’s not the same as KFC.  Dad-of-the-Tummies has done drumsticks in the KFC fashion, but I don’t know what he did because I hid from the kitchen.  In my defence, BT5 was only two days old, and we had spent the afternoon out taking photos of the kids at the spot we had our wedding photos taken because it was our tenth wedding anniversary, and the day before that had been BT2’s birthday…. I was a little tired.  Plus I needed to not over do things because BT2’s birthday party was the next day.  Anywhooo, I don’t know what he did, I just know he made a big mess and dinner was late (good thing he tidies up after himself ;-)), but it tasted nice.  The only critique I remember hearing from Dad-of-the-Tummies is that the coating wasn’t as thick as KFC.  I must get around to experimenting with it myself some time!

This stays nice when it is cold too.  I plan on whipping up a batch of the seasoning today, then cooking chicken strips on Christmas Eve, popping them in the fridge, and taking them to lunch with the in-laws on Christmas Day.  I have no doubt they’ll be a hit.

(I’m adding this to Tasty Tuesday, check it out for loads more recipes!)

One Response to “KFC Flavour Seasoning, and it’s gluten free!”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Weekly Wrap Up – Christmas Week « Chaotic Cuisine - December 24, 2010

    […] – Bottomless Tummy 1 made the KFC seasoning.  I got the frozen spuds in to a bag.  Dinner was stir fry vegetables, rice and scrambled egg […]

Leave a Reply

