Ginger Cookies

9 Nov

Look at me go – two posts in two days!

This is a pretty standard cookie recipe, but I’ve made it twice now….. well, kind of – I didn’t write it down the first time I made it, so they’re probably not exactly the same, but near enough….. anyway, I’ve made it twice now and they’ve actually held their shape BOTH times!  I have a real talent for “melting” gluten free biscuits(cookies), so much so that I usually pull them out of the oven half baked, scrape them in to a slice tin, put them back in the oven, then call it good.  Or I just give up and switch it to a slice recipe completely.

  • 125 g butter
  • 1 c sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 3 c all purpose gluten free flour (I used Orgran, but I’m sure any mix, commercial or home mixed, would work)
  • 1 Tb ginger
I forgot baking powder the second time and they still worked, and that’s the time I wrote down what I was doing – just to clarify that I haven’t missed the raising agent accidentally.
  1. Preheat oven to 180c/350f.
  2. Cream butter and sugar, add eggs one at a time mixing well with each addition, add flour and ginger, mix.
  3. I rolled mine into little balls, about a teaspoon of mix I guess, then flattened them a little as I put them on the baking tray.
  4. The one step I forgot to take note of was….. cooking time.  It would’ve been ten or fifteen minutes.  I just check the bottom of one to see if it’s golden brown, and pull them out if it is.  After a few minutes remove them from the tray to finish cooling.
These were a soft, melt in your mouth (which is much better than melting on the tray) cookie, not a crunchy crispy one.
I ate far too many.
Leave a Reply

